Mantras

August 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Do you guys have any mantras? You know, things you say to yourself and repeat…whenever? They might be embarrassing, they might be mood changing, but everyone has one, right? Here, I’ll start.

I have a few.

Sometimes, when I’m feeling kind of intimidated, like I’m not doing enough, and some of my parent’s friends come over bragging about how great there kid is doing in grad school I think, Only you can make yourself feel inferior. Thanks Eleanor Roosevelt from a middle school inspirational poster.

When I’m running, this is the embarrassing one, I tell myself, Look how good you look!

And days like today, when something just isn’t quite right and I’m in one of those moods, I borrow a line from the amazing Ms. Zora Neale Hurston, and I say quietly, I love myself when I am laughing, and then again when I am looking mean and impressive

I love myself when I am laughing
and then again when I am looking mean and impressive.

I love myself when I am laughing
and then again when I am looking mean and impressive.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mantras at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

