Inspired

January 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

2 things:

1) I am proud to have Barack Obama as my president.

I’m proud that Lena will get to grow up with Obama as president.

I’m excited about my ability to give Lena stories. So many stories.

Which brings me to…

2) Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s TED talk.

If you have twenty minutes, (which I’m sure you do. Halftime, people) this is worth the watch.

I won’t say too much about it now, maybe more later (gotta go watch the heels) but I will say that I’m inspired to teach Lena this, and I also want to thank those around me, daily, that save me from the single story that I would be in danger of becoming.

I just surprised myself by getting a permanent position in a field that I love, doing a project that I love, taking a grad school class that I love.

And there was a moment when I thought that that couldn’t happen. And I realize now that I would be guilty of only realizing the single story of “teen pregnancy” or “single mom”. And that was dangerous.

And now I am reaching paradise.

§ One Response to Inspired

  • Jack says:

    Heyo! I miss you ladies! I hope that you guys are doing well. Tell Miss Lena that I’m coming home soon-ish. Oh yeah and do me a favor and make sure the Aspen girl doesn’t go completely nuts by May! Be good yo. We should get together and make tasty foods when I get home. Peace.

    Jack

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspired at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

