Defying logic

November 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

Lena wakes up in the morning, calls for me, I get out of bed, take her out of her crib, go back to bed, and Lena follows and lies down next to me. She wiggles for a little bit, snuggles, and then she gets bored, and she sits up, and she says, “I’m going downstairs, alright?” And I say, “that’s fine.” And she says, “Okay.” And on her way out the door, she says, “Mommy, you will make the sun come up?”

She’s started saying it recently, because a while ago, when she didn’t want to go to bed, she’d ask why she had to, and I’d say, “Because we have to go to sleep, so the sun comes up in the morning.” And I’ll be darned, especially when it’s overcast in the morning, this kid does not think the sun comes up until my ass is out of bed and downstairs. I bet it’s what she tells herself if she wakes up in the middle of the night. She sleeps through the night really well these days. Look at this kid. Defying logic.

My friend Charlie also gave me this book, recently, it’s called How to talk so your kids will listen and listen so your kids will talk. L is having some tantrum issues, some not napping issues, and it’s hard, dealing with this little bundle of emotions. So I’ve started reading this book, and it’s really cool, I haven’t finished it yet, but it seems to come down to this.

Defying all my logic, all my emotions, there are some times, when all Lena needs, is a lap to sit on, a hug, someone to come to her.

And yeah, we have a lot to work on, I have a lot to learn about parenting, and communication, but sometimes all you need is that pause, that calming exhalation of breath. A, you can do this, and a, come here, Lena, come here. And sure enough, she comes. Tired, cranky, hungry. Too tired and cranky to eat, and she crawls into my lap. And I’m there for her.

Look at me, a parent, defying logic.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Defying logic at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

