Some days

October 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

So I’m pretty convinced that being an adult is just like being a kid but with vastly more responsibilities. I’m also convinced that anything and everything you need to know in the world has already been covered in a kids book. These days, I’m drawing particular inspiration from Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day, where at the end of the day, you just have to say, well, that’s that, some days are like that, and move on.

Move on. That’s been the key here.

So I’m not going to lie, I’ve been dreading today. Teacher work day, and hey, I’ll be honest, spending an entire day alone with a tantruming kid in the throes of the terrible twos is not the most fun thing in the world. Especially since she hasn’t been napping. I’ll admit it. I’ve never felt more like a babysitter than when my kid is standing in the bath, screaming, while I’m washing her hair, and I’m just thinking, please, someone come home, mom, dad, anyone, please save me from this.

But then, and this is completely how all 2 year olds don’t get abandoned by their parents on the side of the road, my child shows her angelic side. The cuddly side. The side that makes me just so happy and lucky to be a parent. <—HOLD ON TO THIS FEELING PLEASE, RACHAEL.

Today Lena has been a dream. I went into work a little in the morning, and my mom stayed home with Lena (thank you mom), and when I got home Lena POLITELY asked for me to make her another sandwich, which she proceeded to eat. We read books, we talked about dinosaurs, Lena correctly differentiated between a triceratops and a protoceratops (did I mention this kid surprises me every day?), jumped on the couch for a while, and then I put her in her crib to nap. Which she did. For two hours. And then she woke up. And asked politely for some milk and some pears. And we’ve been singing and dancing and playing ever since. And she’s even playing nicely by herself now while I’m typing this. (oops, now she wants me to sit on the couch and watch her jump off. Better oblige.)

Some days, Lena, some days.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some days at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

