I wanna be like you-ou-ou

September 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

Lena has picked up these charming habits from school since she’s moved up with the bigger kids.

Here are a few examples.

“Lena, would you like milk with dinner?”
“Huh?”

“Lena, which color crayon do you want to use?”
“What?”

Preschool: where kids learn surliness and general malaise.

The other thing that Lena is learning at daycare is how to stretch single syllable words into two syllables. A skill that most southerners have mastered with charm. Lena on the way home will be talking about her “blue hay-ouse” or how she “fell day-own”. Or if she can please have some “me-ilk”.

And holy crap if it isn’t the hardest thing for me to not want to drop everything and imitate her pint sized southern drawl. “Yes Lena, I would love to sit on that chay-er with you.”

Oh Lena, go on, you’re going to be fine. With your dark hair and your Southern accent. You’re going to be a strong one, I know it. I just hope that I’ll be able to keep up with you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I wanna be like you-ou-ou at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

