Bad mommy blogger

June 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am officially a bad mommy blogger. I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking of things that Lena does that are easily convertible to a blog entry, but then by the time I actually have time to myself, I find that I actually don’t want to sit quietly and relive in insane ups and downs that is having a two-and-a-half year old.

Because holy crap, the highs are high and the lows are low.

My parents have been gone all this week, which is actually really nice. I like these bits and blasts of independence, and when I get through the day in one piece and everyone is fed, bathed, and happy, let me tell you, there’s no better feeling in the world. Gold star for me. Extra gold stars if the dishes are all put away.

And then it’s a little hard, when I really need to take the dog for a walk and Lena is for some reason refusing to put on her shoes, or I ask Lena (not exaggerating here) 5 times, once every three or four steps if she wants to feed Daisy, and the answer is always no, until I put the food in Daisy’s bowl, and then she starts crying, and at that point I’m just like, what do you want me to do kid? And walk away.

And then it’s wonderful, when I make dinner for the two of us, and Lena takes one bite and says, “I like chickpeas, Mommy.” And I say, “That’s great Lena, I like them too.” And she says, “I like rice. Mommy likes rice toooo?” And I say, “Yes, I like rice too.” “Just like LENA.” And this is somehow the most amusing thing in the world, and we have a happy filling dinner.

And I’m starting to do things for me too. I joined a GYM, that’s right, you heard it hear first, so I’ve worked out every day this week, from about 3:45 to 4:45, and then I toddle across the street and pick up Lena.  Look at us go.

And we’re doing more things. We went to the Back Porch Music concert in Durham the other week. And we drove to Cary to buy baos. Lena and I, just running around, having a good time. And I’m really thankful for Lena, because despite the fact that this morning she through a tantrum and laid down in the middle of the kitchen, and then Daisy stepped on her because Daisy suffers from “blindness” and “digit mass”, which of course DID NOT HELP MATTERS, Lena is a really good kid, especially around other people. So hanging out in Durham with Aspen is actually easy. And it keeps me sane. I was talking with one of our neighbors about the isolation that occurs after having a kid. And yeah, it’s a little different because none of my peer group has kids, but I’m just now realizing that it doesn’t mean that I’m isolated from them. It just, well, it requires more work on my part, but it’s doable. It really is doable. And I invited my neighbor to the next Back Porch Music concert. (It’s free! And in Durham! Next to Tyler’s! And there’s Whole Foods and Burritos and Beer! Call us if you want to go!) And she said, yes, that would be nice, except their kid goes to bed at 7.

7.

What can you get done before 7?? No wonder you’re isolated, you can’t even go out to dinner!

I’m seriously not judging anyone’s parenting, and I get, that yeah, having a whole evening to yourself would be nice sometimes, But I enjoy my evenings with Lena. She’s in daycare all day, and sometimes my parents don’t get home till close to 6:30, and we like our time together. Plus an 8 o clock bed time (8:30 or 9 if we’re going out) yields a 7 am wake up (7:30, 8), which in my opinion is a civilized time to begin the morning.

Lena’s just fun. (Especially when she’s not freaking out about something.) Kids are fun. They let you listen to things like this.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bad mommy blogger at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

