the p-word

April 14, 2010 § 1 Comment

I’ve been watching Parenthood on NBC, and I kind of like it. I thought I didn’t at first, I thought it was a little too….predictable? Trials and tribulations of parenthood, and all that. There’s a mom that works a lot, and her stay at home husband, and all the insecurities that revolve around that. There’s the stay at home mom, and all the insecurities, there’s the kid that’s just been diagnosed with autism, thank you autism awareness*, there’s a single mom that just moved home with her parents (!!!!), and the commitmentphobe younger brother that just found out he has a 5 year old son. I mean there is no realistic way that this one family has all the main parenting hardships all in one. NOT REALISTIC.

That being said, after last night, (the first night by the way that I did NOT go to bed before 9 o’clock this week) I found myself identifying with each and every one of these people.

Fictional. I know they’re fictional.

And I really only started watching it because Lorelai Gilmore is on it. I love Gilmore girls…

But it’s comforting to know that there are people (adults) out there who are scared, who are confused, who are sometimes bad at parenting. And that you’re allowed to try your best.  And holy crap if there was anything more forgiving than a black Labrador  Retriever,  it’s a kid.

Plus these are way better parenting examples than real life. I mean who wants to use the mom that sent her adopted son alone back on a plane to Russia as a role model. Not me! (I will however, use Parenthood’s mom that started dating her teenage daughter’s teacher as one. That’s right folks, it’s okay to be a cougar!)

So, television can be beneficial kids. I mean any sort of exposure to the underbelly of life is beneficial. And it’s not something we like to talk about. And it’s something we should, because it’s helpful. Of course, after I was pregnant I became the go-to girl for “oh shit I think I’m pregnant” stories. Which was really great, if not just because it revealed a lot about the college girl’s pysche. Word from the wise, girls, if you’re both on the pill and using condoms, you’re really probably not pregnant. But if you feel the need to completely freak yourself out once a month, I’m here for you.

Hmm. That’s all for today. The other p-word was potty training and I think Lena’s almost ready. A world without diapers…can you imagine?

*All kidding aside the world of autism is incredibly intense. There are polar opposite views on the definition, the treatment, and it’s scary as hell. Some kids with autism can’t even talk, while others can turn into functional adults. And 1 in 110 kids get it. And it’s really hard for parents. So, you know. Big ups to those affected by it.

§ One Response to the p-word

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the p-word at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

