guilty

February 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

The things that are happening.

I have completely devoured the first three books of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. No, not on par with Harry Potter, not at all, yet somehow utterly fantastic. Let me just say this: perfectly packed adventures that span about 10 days time, plenty of historically correct references to Greek mythology, with liberty taken in believable intervals. And yes, Hilary Duff AND Jesse McCartney are both mentioned.

Keeping up with the tweens, that’s me. A veritable pantheon of young adult fiction, I consider myself.

Of course, yesterday I ventured into Davis Library for the first time since becoming an alum(na?). Weird. I checked out Beth Ann Fennelly’s latest book of poetry, Unmentionables, in which she has the best line about footsie pajamas, “un-snap snap snap”, and also Barbara Kingsolver’s new book, The Lacuna. See? I am somewhat literate.

But what I’m guilty for…

Whenever I’m a little sad, or a little lonely at night, sometimes I hope that Lena wakes up and needs to snuggle with me. It happened perfectly last night, the tar heels were down by 20 at the half and Lena had a bit of a cold, and woke up crying. And usually I say, tough love kiddo, you gotta learn to sleep through the night. But last night I just needed it. So I put her in my bed, brushed my teeth, put on my jammies, and crawled in bed with her. With that indescribable comfort that comes with little feet pushing against your back, I got under the covers, turned on my head lamp, and proceeded to read, under my cover tent, listening to Lena breathe on the covers next to me, pausing with every turn she made, feeling that comfortable push of her body against mine. That feeling, you know? That feeling that you’re not alone in the world, no, no matter how hard you try.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading guilty at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

