Advantages, all of the sudden

January 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

Working part-ish time has its advantages. I say “part-ish” because I was hired part time, but cleared to work up to 40 hours a week, and let’s face it, you can’t get any science done only doing 20 hours a week. It just doesn’t happen. In fact, the two full-time techs that they have started as part time and within a month got sucked in to full time status. Which has happened to me, sort of. I’ve been working about 7 hours a day since I started. Not to hard to bump up to 8. Except I’m not doing that.

Today was the first day I “took the morning off” as in, didn’t go in until 10:30.

What a revelation. I woke up with Lena, got her dressed, watched her eat breakfast, and sent her off with Nana and Pops. I wasn’t really hungry yet so I snuggled upstairs and watched DVRed House and last night’s Daily Show. Then I took a leisurely shower, then made myself an egg and cheese sandwich, and ate it (leisurely, needless to say) while reading the book that I bought this weekend, Committed. Delicious.

I realize that this is not what the real world is like, and I have it easy as pie. (Pie…delicious cherry pie…) But I’m taking advantage of this one for a while. Come on, I deserve that much, don’t I?

In other news, Lena.

All of the sudden she can say her abc’s, count to ten. She knows that she has 2 legs, 2 arms, 2 eyes, 2 ears, and 1 nose. (She thinks she has 2 bellies, and with the way she eats i’m not convinced otherwise.) Things are changing every day. “Dada” is now “Daisy”. Soap used to be dope and is now soap. The one I’ll miss the most is octopus. Gone is her cute little “ahh-ooooh-pus” now to be replaced with “Awk-pus”.

The thing we need to work on is pronouns.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Advantages, all of the sudden at Welcome to the nerf herders.

meta

